Organic SEO Services

4 Alternative Hacks to Dominating the SERP

4 Alternative Hacks to Dominating the SERP

SEO is a tough nut to crack. You may be resolute in your efforts to optimize each and every element of your website and industrious to create top-quality content on a regular basis and make it as easy as possible for Google crawlers to crawl your web pages.

But there are lots of marketing nerds out there who are vying for the same pot and determined to ruin your plans for total SERP domination. Add to this, the challenge of time. Clients and bosses aren’t patient anymore. Topping the SERP requires time and patience; identifying the opportunity gaps and constant optimization requires six to twelve months at least. They’ll give you three months at best. Get in touch with any SEO service company and they’ll tell you that old-fashioned SEO practice is effective in gaining high SERP ranking, but not within the deadline of one to three months. Not a chance!

The challenges don’t end here! Consider that you or your organic SEO services provider has started his SEO practice and comes up with the keyword “SEO services” during the keyword research. This keyword has high priority and is vital to secure top spot in the SERPs. Let’s take a quick look at the SERP result for this mid-tail keyword:

The SERP is topped by marketing leaders namely “gorgonseo”, “evincedev” and “Potenza Global Solutions” provide a treasure of information on SEO and offer organic SEO services. These businesses have been building their brand with the execution of the top quality content for the better part of the last decade. It won’t be easy for any new relative brand to dislodge them from the top spot, that too in such a short duration.

So with no time on your side and your bosses and clients breathing down on your neck, it’s time you consider looking at alternatives that can help you dominate SERP without ranking organically at all.

Use AdWords

It is the first section of any SERP. Yes, some may say that organic clicks are more effective than the paid ones. Moreover, the CPCs are higher compared to the ones in SEO.

As you can see below, the CPC is around $30.74. That is expensive when you consider that the average B2B Benchmark CPC is only $1.64.

However, CPCs don’t matter much when you have numbers to hit before the deadline. You can even afford to bid at higher CPC if you get your margins right. Let’s say for example you sell your SEO services for $10,000. Let’s see what the gross profit looks like at CPC rates of $20, $35 and $50.

So, as you can see in the above table, the ad costs do take away a substantial part of the revenue, but the potential for growth that it may offer in a short period cannot be denied. You’ll need a healthy budget and an aggressive approach towards your ad campaign. Not something out of the question, right?

There have been many entrepreneurial ventures that have fuelled their business growth through an aggressive ad spend. It is not a recommended long-term strategy but definitely offers a strong start, especially to new ventures.

Make yourself part of Top Stories

Google SERP has two knowledge sections:

  • 1) Dictionary
  • 2) News section with Top Stories

You can try getting yourself into the Top stories section. A daunting task, but not an impossible one! Certainly a rewarding one! You can try writing for market leaders like Forbes, Business-2-Community or Marketing Interactive. Write something awesome with lots of stats and numbers, and buy social traffic to boost views, rank etc.

Make the most of Third-Party Review Sites

Third-Party Review sites help people compare their options before finalizing a product or service. Moreover, they boost branding and drive sales.

If you offer travelling service, focus to get yourself positively reviewed on TripAdvisor. If you’re into Marketing, Credo should be your target platform. The more reviews you acquire, the higher visibility you achieve. With a smart marketing strategy, you can push your customers to review your products and service and get on top of third-party review sites that will offer increased visibility and traffic.

Find new Long-tail Variations

Long-tail keywords are basically long keyword phrases (3-4 letters) that are highly specific to searcher’s intent.

At the bottom of each SERP, there is a “related searches” section”, that offers recommendations based on what other people have already reviewed. These recommendations can find application in the form of long-tail keywords.

This will definitely provide a huge boost with your long-tail keyword strategy with an increased bump in the search intent as well.


You can labour around on using millions of long-tail and short-tail keywords that may give you around 10-20 searches a month. This will give you the results you intended in the long run and thereby drive your revenue in say around 2 years. But do you have that time? Do your bosses and clients offer that time to you? No; which means you need to evolve to your surroundings and be smart and creative in your strategies. The above hacks will help you start driving revenue within your challenging timeline.

Potenza Global Solutions, an SEO service company based in Ahmadabad, offers organic SEO services to clients across the globe.

7 Tips To Protect Your Website From Negative SEO Attack

7 Tips To Protect Your Website From Negative SEO Attack

There has been a lot of talks lately about negative SEO. What is it? How does it happen? If so, should you be worried? How do you know whether someone is trying to attack your website with negative SEO? 

This blog aims to shed some light on the subject and will help you with tips and solutions to prevent your website from negative SEO attacks.

What is SEO?

The Internet is a big endless space with a huge collection of data and information available. When a web user looks for any information or a product, he clicks and browses through the first few results on his Search Results page. The user will modify his search if he does not find anything relevant. 

This is where SEO comes into the picture! SEO (Search Engine Optimization) is a set of practices to increase the quality of traffic to your website and improve search engine rankings. However, today, gaining high rankings using competitive keywords is not as easy as it was a couple of years ago. SEO has undergone a major transformation lately, and there have been drastic changes in strategies utilized to stand out from the competition.

The increase in competition has also led to increasing unethical practices as well. Some companies would prefer to focus on tearing down other sites rather than building their own. This attack is referred to as a negative SEO attack. Negative SEO uses black hat SEO and other unethical techniques to lower a competitor’s ranking in the search engine.

What is Negative SEO?

Some companies are so desperate for improved rankings that they resort to questionable strategies and focus on elevating their rankings by eliminating competition. Negative SEO attacks can occur as follows:

  • Hacking competitor’s website
  • Creating spammy links to competitor’s website
  • Replicate website’s content all over the Internet
  • Creating fake social media profiles and tarnishing reputation online
  • Removing top performing backlinks

In the end, the only goal of Negative SEO is to lower the ranking of competitors’ websites.

How to prevent and combat Negative SEO attacks?

Negative SEO attacks, if not managed properly, can cause irreversible damage; and it’s crucial to take the following steps to protect your website from one:

Monitor and perform regular audits on your website’s link to detect any suspicious activity. This is one of the most important steps to prevent hackers and spammers from growing. Check if there’s a sharp increase in the number of backlinks and linking domains. If the graph shows any sharp spikes, you know it’s time to raise a red flag. Spammers may perform Negative SEO attacks by building low-quality links and redirects.

Monitor Website Speed

The page loading time is an important factor affecting your search rankings. If your website’s loading time has suddenly increased, there are chances that you might be a victim of forceful crawling. 

This forceful crawling can cause a heavy server load leading your website to slow down or crash. In this case, you should immediately contact your web hosting service provider or webmaster and figure out the source for the load.

Beware of Content Scraping

Original content is one of the most important factors that affect your SEO rankings. As a result, Content Scraping has become too perennial these days. Content Scraping means plagiarising original content from a website and copying it word-for-word on another website. 

During a negative SEO attack, attackers scrape your content to combine it with their wafer-thin content or a link farm attack to spam your website. If the copied content gets indexed before your original content, then your content is tagged by Google as copied and devalued, resulting in a drastic fall in rankings. 

Use online tools to keep a check if the content has been plagiarized. If yes, you can report by filling out Google’s Copyright Removal form.

Monitor Google My Business

Negative reviews can be heartbreaking, but they help us better understand our customers’ behavior. But what if these negative reviews are amplified?

Anyone can attack your site with many fake reviews to damage your reputation. You can flag and report these fake negative reviews with Google My Business. All you need to do is follow these steps:

  • Find your business listing
  • Go to review summary, #Reviews in the left panel
  • Click flag fake reviews
  • Fill out the report form

Watch your site’s Click-Through Rate (CTR)

It’s debatable whether Click-Through Rate is a search engine ranking factor or not, but some instances clearly show that a high click rate on search results can boost up the rankings. while a low CTR gets a site de-ranked.

A high bounce rate paired with low CTR may indicate a negative SEO attack. The attacker programs a bot to target specific keywords, lands on competitor websites, and causes bounce, creating a false SERP bounce rate. Monitor your keywords’ CTR in Google Console, click Search Traffic > Search Analytics for any spikes and disavow the offending links.

Check your SERP rankings regularly

Keeping a check on SERP rankings should be a daily task for any marketer. But, here’s why it’s really important! A sudden drop in ranks may be due to a malicious attack caused by the complete de-indexing of your website. Make sure your website’s robot.txt is properly set up, along with getting regular ranking checks.

Upgrade your Security

Negative SEO attacks might not be as common as cyber-attacks, but they heavily impact your site’s search rankings. When Google detects a compromised site, it immediately flags it with a ‘This site may be hacked’ warning that can scare off your website’s potential traffic. Keep your web security updated, security patches installed, and your CMS software equipped with powerful user encryption protection.

Wrapping up

If you believe you’ve been a victim of a Negative SEO attack, don’t panic; identify and isolate the problem before it escalates and let Google know. Whether you have an in-house SEO team or outsource organic SEO services from other agencies, please note that Negative SEO attacks are rare. Simply monitoring your content and website daily will help you stem and prevent any Negative SEO attack from occurring, ever.

Understanding importance of Site Structure and its SEO Benefits

Understanding importance of Site Structure and its SEO Benefits

When we talk about improving website rankings in the SERP, all we hear is regarding incorporation of SEO practices like content creation and updating with the right keywords, links, metadata, and other optimization techniques. One crucial aspect that we overlook is the importance of site structure to enhance SEO performance.

Whether you plan to employ an in-house SEO team or outsource organic SEO services from the external agency, make sure you instruct your SEO team and developers to create a website with an SEO-friendly structure.

So, let’s take a quick look at a few points that highlight the importance of site structure, and gain understanding on elements that are needed to build a search-friendly website.

Pay Attention to Your Website’s Depth

For any website, depth is defined as, “the number of clicks required to reach any of its pages from the homepage.” A website with a deep navigation structure requires an extensive number of clicks to reach the desired page whereas flat or shallow structures require fewer clicks in comparison.

Shallow navigation structure is preferred, from both usability and crawler perspective, as it prevents important content from getting buried within pages, and makes it easier for a search engine to look for and index your site.

Great Site Structure Contributes to Better Crawling and Improved User- Experience

Google’s algorithm uses information from search parties to rank your site. If a search party finds your website well-structured and logical, then, the probability of him bouncing off early is greatly reduced, and that helps improve dwell-time, which ultimately leads to better ranking.

It is recommended to break down the content into distinct and unique categories that have sub-categories relating to the main one, under which they’re located. Keep your core categories to a minimum number i.e. between 2 and 7, with even numbered sub-categories between them. One category with 10 sub-categories and another one with just 2, can make the site look unbalanced.

Apart from the users, this categorization of the content also helps the crawlers to understand your site better and find your content faster.

Nail the Perfect Website Navigation

Most developers make the mistake of not giving enough attention to navigation elements while structuring a website. It is common, yet huge when it comes to SEO. Avoid using navigation structures that make it difficult for crawlers to search through your pages. The Flash, Ajax and Javascript format may look jazzy; but, they make it difficult and nearly impossible for search engine spiders to parse and crawl through.

When creating navigation, try using schemes based on XHTML or CSS. They can be more easily read and indexed by the search engine crawlers, thus impacting your ranking in the SERP.

Get Your Sitemap Right

A sitemap is a file with a complete list of web pages of a website to tell Google and other search engines about the organization of the site content. This file helps the web crawlers to crawl your website more intelligently. Though most sites use only XML sitemaps these days, it is recommended to have both XML and HTML sitemaps. XML sitemaps are designed keeping search engines in mind; while HTML sitemaps are designed for humans.

To build an HTML sitemap, you need to create a new HTML page with a logical list of all the URLs. This will then be reflected on your site’s navigation. For XML, you can use tools like any other WordPress plug-ins to create your sitemaps.

Don’t Skip Internal Linking

It is not easy for large websites to get all their vital content accessible to their audience within 3-4 clicks. This is where internal linking plays a huge role. It can significantly decrease your site’s depth and make more content accessible. The basic idea behind internal linking is that every page on the website has one more link to other pages. Here are few points that highlight the importance of internal linking structure in a website:

  • Drastically decreases no. of clicks required to access each page on the website.
  • Provides an opportunity to use keyword-rich anchor texts.
  • Helps establish information hierarchy across the website.
  • Significantly improves the user experience.

Internal linking should be used wisely and not to just utilize the keyword-rich anchor texts. The focus should be on maintaining the hierarchical structure and provide relevant content to the audience via internal linking.


There are a number of factors that impact SEO rankings, and site structure is one of the most important and overlooked methods among the developers and digital marketing agencies. In the end, working on preparing a perfect site structure requires a lot of efforts on planning, analysis, organization, and design. But, if you nail it, your site’s visibility will only be on the rise.

Need help with Social Media Marketing? Looking for unparalleled organic SEO services? Potenza Global Solutions offers complete Digital Marketing Solutions. The world of excellence beckons you!