Tag: SERP

4 Alternative Hacks to Dominating the SERP

4 Alternative Hacks to Dominating the SERP

SEO is a tough nut to crack. You may be resolute in your efforts to optimize each and every element of your website and industrious to create top-quality content on a regular basis and make it as easy as possible for Google crawlers to crawl your web pages.

But there are lots of marketing nerds out there who are vying for the same pot and determined to ruin your plans for total SERP domination. Add to this, the challenge of time. Clients and bosses aren’t patient anymore. Topping the SERP requires time and patience; identifying the opportunity gaps and constant optimization requires six to twelve months at least. They’ll give you three months at best. Get in touch with any SEO service company and they’ll tell you that old-fashioned SEO practice is effective in gaining high SERP ranking, but not within the deadline of one to three months. Not a chance!

The challenges don’t end here! Consider that you or your organic SEO services provider has started his SEO practice and comes up with the keyword “SEO services” during the keyword research. This keyword has high priority and is vital to secure top spot in the SERPs. Let’s take a quick look at the SERP result for this mid-tail keyword:

The SERP is topped by marketing leaders namely “gorgonseo”, “evincedev” and “Potenza Global Solutions” provide a treasure of information on SEO and offer organic SEO services. These businesses have been building their brand with the execution of the top quality content for the better part of the last decade. It won’t be easy for any new relative brand to dislodge them from the top spot, that too in such a short duration.

So with no time on your side and your bosses and clients breathing down on your neck, it’s time you consider looking at alternatives that can help you dominate SERP without ranking organically at all.

Use AdWords

It is the first section of any SERP. Yes, some may say that organic clicks are more effective than the paid ones. Moreover, the CPCs are higher compared to the ones in SEO.

As you can see below, the CPC is around $30.74. That is expensive when you consider that the average B2B Benchmark CPC is only $1.64.

However, CPCs don’t matter much when you have numbers to hit before the deadline. You can even afford to bid at higher CPC if you get your margins right. Let’s say for example you sell your SEO services for $10,000. Let’s see what the gross profit looks like at CPC rates of $20, $35 and $50.

So, as you can see in the above table, the ad costs do take away a substantial part of the revenue, but the potential for growth that it may offer in a short period cannot be denied. You’ll need a healthy budget and an aggressive approach towards your ad campaign. Not something out of the question, right?

There have been many entrepreneurial ventures that have fuelled their business growth through an aggressive ad spend. It is not a recommended long-term strategy but definitely offers a strong start, especially to new ventures.

Make yourself part of Top Stories

Google SERP has two knowledge sections:

  • 1) Dictionary
  • 2) News section with Top Stories

You can try getting yourself into the Top stories section. A daunting task, but not an impossible one! Certainly a rewarding one! You can try writing for market leaders like Forbes, Business-2-Community or Marketing Interactive. Write something awesome with lots of stats and numbers, and buy social traffic to boost views, rank etc.

Make the most of Third-Party Review Sites

Third-Party Review sites help people compare their options before finalizing a product or service. Moreover, they boost branding and drive sales.

If you offer travelling service, focus to get yourself positively reviewed on TripAdvisor. If you’re into Marketing, Credo should be your target platform. The more reviews you acquire, the higher visibility you achieve. With a smart marketing strategy, you can push your customers to review your products and service and get on top of third-party review sites that will offer increased visibility and traffic.

Find new Long-tail Variations

Long-tail keywords are basically long keyword phrases (3-4 letters) that are highly specific to searcher’s intent.

At the bottom of each SERP, there is a “related searches” section”, that offers recommendations based on what other people have already reviewed. These recommendations can find application in the form of long-tail keywords.

This will definitely provide a huge boost with your long-tail keyword strategy with an increased bump in the search intent as well.

Conclusion

You can labour around on using millions of long-tail and short-tail keywords that may give you around 10-20 searches a month. This will give you the results you intended in the long run and thereby drive your revenue in say around 2 years. But do you have that time? Do your bosses and clients offer that time to you? No; which means you need to evolve to your surroundings and be smart and creative in your strategies. The above hacks will help you start driving revenue within your challenging timeline.

Potenza Global Solutions, an SEO service company based in Ahmadabad, offers organic SEO services to clients across the globe.

7 Tips To Protect Your Website From Negative SEO Attack

7 Tips To Protect Your Website From Negative SEO Attack

There has been a lot of talk lately about negative SEO. Does it really happen? If so, should you be worried? How do you know whether someone is attempting to attack you with negative SEO? The purpose of this blog is to shed some light on the subject, and hopefully to reduce some of the fear exists in this area.

What is SEO?

The Internet is a large endless space with a barrage of data and information available. When a web user looks for any information or a product, he clicks and browses through the first few results that appear in his Search Results page, what we call SERPs. He will modify his search if he does not find anything relevant. This is where SEO comes into the picture! SEO (Search Engine Optimization) is a set of practices to increase the quality of traffic to your website and improve search engine rankings. However, today, gaining high rankings using competitive keywords is not as easy as it was a couple of years ago. SEO has undergone a major transformation lately and there have been drastic changes in strategies employed to stand out from the bunch.

The increase in competition has also led to increasing unethical shenanigans as well. There are companies that would prefer to focus on tearing down other sites rather than building their own. This attack, referred as Negative SEO attack, makes use of black hat SEO and other unethical techniques to lower a competitor’s ranking in the search engine.

What is Negative SEO?

Some companies are so desperate for improved rankings that they resort to questionable strategies and focus on elevating their rankings by eliminating competition. Negative SEO attacks can occur as follows:

  • Hacking competitor’s website
  • Creating spammy links to competitor’s website
  • Replicate website’s content all over the Internet
  • Creating fake social media profiles and tarnishing reputation online
  • Removing top performing backlinks

The ultimate goal of Negative SEO is to lower the ranking of competitors’ website.

How to prevent and combat Negative SEO attack?

Negative SEO attacks, if not handled properly can cause irreversible damage; and it’s imperative to take the following measures to avoid such a situation:

Keep track of your links

Monitor and perform regular audits on your website’s link to detect any suspicious activity. This is one of the most important steps to prevent hackers and spammers from succeeding. Check if there’s a sharp increase in a number of backlinks and linking domains. If the graph shows any sharp spikes, you know it’s time to raise a red flag. Spammers may perform Negative SEO attack by building low-quality links and redirects.

Monitor Website Speed

Page loading time of a website is vital to gain high search rankings. If your website’s loading time has suddenly increased, there are chances that you might be a victim of forceful crawling. This forceful crawling can cause a heavy server load leading your website to slow down, or even crash.

In this case, you should immediately contact your web hosting service provider, or webmaster and figure out the source for the load.

Beware of Content Scraping

Original content is one of the most important factors that affect your SEO rankings. As a result, Content Scraping has become too perennial these days. Content Scraping means plagiarizing original content from a website and copying it word-for-word on another website. During a negative SEO attack, attackers scrape your content to combine it with their wafer-thin content or a link farm attack to spam your website.

If the copied content gets indexed before your original content, then your content is tagged by Google as copied and devalued, resulting in a drastic fall in rankings. Use online tools to keep a check if the content has been plagiarized. If yes, you can report by filling out Google’s Copyright Removal form.

Monitor Google My Business

Negative reviews can be heartbreaking, but they help us improve and understand our customers’ behavior better. But, what if these negative reviews are amplified?

Unless there’s a PR blunder or some sort of controversy, this indicates that someone is attacking your site with a plethora of fake reviews to damage your reputation. With Google My Business, you can flag and report these fake negative reviews. All you need to do is follow these steps:

  • Find your business listing
  • Go to review summary, #Reviews in the left panel
  • Click flag fake reviews
  • Fill out the report form

Watch your site’s Click-Through Rate (CTR)

It’s debatable whether Click-Through Rate is a search engine ranking signal or not, but some instances clearly show that a high click-rate on search results can boost up the rankings, while a low CTR gets a site de-ranked.

A high bounce rate paired with low CTR may indicate the occurrence of a negative SEO attack. The attacker programs a bot to target specific keywords, lands on competitor websites, and causes bounce, thereby creating a false SERP bounce rate. Monitor your keywords’ CTR in Google Console, click Search Traffic > Search Analytics for any spikes and disavow the offending links.

Regular SERP rankings check

Keeping a check on SERP rankings should be a daily task for any marketer. But, here’s why it’s really important! A sudden drop in ranks maybe due to a malicious attack caused by complete de-indexing of your website. Make sure your website’s robot.txt is properly set up, along with getting regular ranking checks.

Upgrade your Security

Negative SEO attacks might not be as common as cyber-attacks, but they heavily impact your site’s search rankings. When Google detects a compromised site, it immediately flags it with a ‘This site may be hacked’ warning that can scare off your website’s potential traffic. Keep your web security updated, security patches installed, and your CMS software equipped with powerful user encryption protection.

Conclusion

If you believe you’ve been a victim of Negative SEO attack, don’t panic; identify and isolate the problem before it escalates and let Google know.

Whether you have an in-house SEO team or outsource organic SEO services from other agencies, please note that Negative SEO attacks are rare and simply monitoring your content and website on a daily basis helps you stem and prevent any Negative SEO attack from occurring, ever.